jump to navigation

Commas July 13, 2006

Posted by Myke Bartlett in CSC 2006 Classwork Archives.
trackback

Today we’re looking at Commas.

Commas have two main uses.

1) We use them to separate items in a list (you put them where you might pause for breath). Instead of writing ‘This morning I woke up and I ate my breakfast and I had a shower and I caught the train and I walked to school’ (Which sounds silly as you’re repeating ‘and I’ a lot) you would write ‘This morning I woke up, ate my breakfast, had a shower, caught the train and walked to school.’

THE LAST ITEM IN A LIST ALWAYS HAS AN ‘AND’ NOT A COMMA. DON’T USE A COMMA BEFORE AN ‘AND’.

2) We also use commas to ‘flag’ additional information in a sentence. That is, we use them to mark out the bits of a sentence we don’t really need for it to make sense.

eg. Yesterday, which was Wednesday, I ate Fish and Chips.
(Here we don’t really need to know yesterday was Wednesday. This is just useful extra information. The sentence still makes sense if you take it away.)

eg. Tom, his mum’s favourite, was given an extra sausage for dinner.
(Again, we don’t need to know Tom is his mum’s favourite for the sentence to make sense.)

Now, have a go at the game here. Once you’ve finished the game, move on to the quiz. At the end, you print yourself a certificate.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

